Call Us Today! (415) 939-9706

Proudly serving Fairfield, CA and the surrounding area since 1970

Our Reviews

Overall Verified Testimonial Score

4.17

Composite Score

Quality

Customer Service

Value

Review Date: 08/20/2016 | Author: Joe C.

Comments: Responded to request for an estimate quickly, did a great job with installing sheet rock, would highly recommend.

Review Date: 02/01/2013 | Author: Nate E.

Comments: Portlock wall did an excellent job. The work crew arrived plan the project, I came be 4hrs later sheet rock was hung beautifully. The next day taping texturing . Man I was so satisfied. Thanks Gerald for a job well done.

Review Date: 12/28/2012 | Author: Karla P.

Comments: They called right away and come out the next day. The estimate was fair The work is not yet complete. Good so far.

Review Date: 01/07/2012 | Author: Dan T.

Comments: This was our second time using Portlock Drywall, he continues to give good service.

Review Date: 11/23/2011 | Author: Al E.

Comments: He showed up on time, gave a good price and went above and beyond my expectations

Review Date: 07/18/2011 | Author: Wesley D.

Comments: portlock drywall is excellent. mr.portlock is very personable, polite reasonable and best of all--very punctual. i can happily endorse portlock dry wall. mr. portlock does all the critical work himself.

Review Date: 04/21/2010 | Author: Alfred S.

Comments: Portlock Drywall did a very professional job installing drywall. They arrived timely, performed the job in the timeframe promised and left the unit clean.

Review Date: 03/23/2010 | Author: Carl S.

Comments: They were eager and hard workers

Review Date: 10/05/2009 | Author: Christine P.

Comments: I highly recommend Portlock Drywall. I have an old house that used to have terrible plaster cracks but thanks to Gerald and his son, my home looks better than new. So professional, fast and realiable. I would rate 6-stars if I could!

Review Date: 08/24/2009 | Author: Dan L.

Comments: Gerald was very responsive and followed up with me which earned him the business. He was very personable and we were happy with the speed at which they completed the project. I would recommend him for future work.

Review Date: 07/16/2009 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald did an excellent job and he was fun to boot!

Review Date: 04/23/2009 | Author: Jennifer C.

Comments: Gerald Portlock is a consumate professional. Gerald was on time, work ready, competitively priced and performed beyond expectations. His work is excellent and I would recommend Gerald without question.

Review Date: 03/30/2009 | Author: Dan T.

Comments: Mr Portlock was on time and completed everthing that he proposed to do. the work was neat and cleaned up on completion. Thier work was satisfactory and I'm happywith the outcome.

Review Date: 03/17/2009 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: had to come twice because we missed a spot --but competent, on-time and friendly.

Review Date: 02/05/2009 | Author: Nick M.

Comments: He was very professional. He called back and had follow through. He did what he said he would do and his price was very competitive.

Review Date: 12/30/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald Portlock Drywall is great. His team did a beautiful job in repairing and replacing the drywall damaged from water from the above unit. I had about 30 recessed lighting installed in my unit. They did a great job in making the cut-outs for the round light fixtures. In addition, they had painted my entire place with 2 coats of Kelly-Moore Swiss Coffee paint. It was painted with care. They are trully professionals. Gerald Portlock is very friendly and reliable. He would continuously communicate with me. I highly recommend him for drywall and painting. His pricing is also great. He can give you the biggest bang for the buck.

Review Date: 12/29/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Prompt, prepared, clean and complete - excellent workers

Review Date: 11/20/2008 | Author: Barbara B.

Comments: Great work done in a timely fashion. Very courtesy, right on time and very pleasent.

Review Date: 11/05/2008 | Author: Lance M.

Comments: This was a 5-day dry wall project. The contractor listened to my plan and my concerns. He offered suggestions which resulted in a more complete and more satisfying outcome. I am very pleased with the work and would definitely use him again. Professional in presentation, quality of work, presentation, and attitude. Skillful, courteous, punctual. I repeat, I am very pleased.

Review Date: 09/25/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald conducted his work in a fast, professional and thorough manner throughout the entire project. Communications were also quick and efficient. Would recommend.

Review Date: 08/06/2008 | Author: Holly C.

Comments: Gerald was excellent, he called me right away came out and gave me an estimate. He was able to start the job ASAP and finished it in two days. His work was fantastic I will definately use him on my next project. Thanks, Holly

Review Date: 08/05/2008 | Author: Ramona B.

Comments: We have had several contractors in our house over the last 18 months and I can say without a doubt Gerald and his crew were the best. He was a pleasure to do business with and I will call him the next time we need a drywall contractor. Arrived on time, finished on time and even went above and beyond the scope of the project.

Review Date: 07/19/2008 | Author: Lindsay H.

Comments: Gerald was fantastic! He responded to my request in a matter of seconds after I submitted it. He came to the house and looked at the job and told me what needed to be done. The next day Gerald and his son arrived to do the work. They worked hard and completed the job in two days. I can't say enough about his professional behavior and quality of work he and his son performed. The price was right and I would definitely spread the word about Portlock Drywall and how good they are! If you need to have drywall work or plaster work done these are the guys for you.

Review Date: 07/16/2008 | Author: David C.

Comments: Fixed 2 holes in my wall. Good service, resonable price, and my wall looks brand new.

Review Date: 02/06/2008 | Author: Cheryl V.

Comments: He started work immediately and did a good job

Review Date: 01/31/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: It all worked out well.

Review Date: 01/30/2008 | Author: Tina I.

Comments: He was fast and reliable. It made the process go smoothly and plan to use him for other projects. Well done!

Review Date: 12/18/2007 | Author: Dmytro V.

Comments: They show up on time and fix stuff quickly and very well.

Review Date: 12/17/2007 | Author: Jones E.

Comments: It's was a good expierants, and yes i would use him again.

Review Date: 12/03/2007 | Author: Quinn M.

Review Date: 12/01/2007 | Author: Jeff S.

Comments: Good price. Left a little mess to clean up.

Review Date: 08/17/2007 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald and his team were simply excellent. They were on time, handled the tricky areas well, and did an excellent job. Most of all they did the project fast and within our budget. I plan on using then again and would recommend them to others.

Review Date: 07/16/2007 | Author: Gwendolyn M.

Comments: Mr. Portlock performed excellent work in my bedroom. All work that Mr. Portlock did is very good. Looks good! Painting, insulating, putting a new wall, fixing window, was all great! Mr. Portlock is prompt, patient, courteous and a very good listener. The work was started and completed on time as he indicated. Very pleased. I also thank ServiceMagic for recommending Mr. Portlock. I will call him again for any work needed.

Review Date: 06/24/2007 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very prompt. Completed work as requested. Great job.

Review Date: 06/10/2007 | Author: Jennifer F.

Comments: They were there the following day to do an estimate and were able to start work immediately. I also needed it done in 2 days and they accomplished that. Communication was extraordinary and they were friendly and helpful.

Review Date: 06/03/2007 | Author: Lori M.

Comments: Gerald is extremely professional and courteous. His finished product was impeccable. Gerald remained true to his estimate and he completed the job in a timely manner. He also left the job site very clean. What a pleasure!!!

Review Date: 06/01/2007 | Author: David K.

Comments: Portlock drywall did a great job & they were prompt

Review Date: 04/30/2007 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 04/05/2007 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Arrived on time, did a good job, good price.

Review Date: 12/22/2006 | Author: David K.

Comments: Gerald Portlock is a top professional who works extremely hard to finish projects on time and on budget. He is honest and reasonable in price and I'd recommend him with the highest regards.

Review Date: 09/22/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald Portlock and crew did an excellent job repairing the ceiling in my kitchen and fixing settlement cracks in the wall. The crew was punctual, courteous, and considerate about cleaning up. I intend to work with Portlock again on a larger project sometime next year.

Review Date: 09/19/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: did good work but fell short on cleaning after job.

Review Date: 09/10/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very quick and responsive. Communication could be better, I never saw the paperwork/contract he spoke of and I wasn't clear on the timing of work in the various rooms. Excellent job though.

Review Date: 09/02/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald and his crew completed my entire garage insulation, sheetrock, tape, and texture in one day as promised!

Review Date: 08/26/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: They were perfect for my needs. I hired them for an additional project and will use the service again for my next drywall project.

Review Date: 08/16/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Did a great job.

Review Date: 07/26/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald did a great job!

Review Date: 05/24/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Portlock Drywall did a fine job making our bathroom walls look like new again.

Review Date: 05/24/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr Portlock was gracious and did a wonderful job. He had a great challenge in our kitchen and made it come out smooth as glass and ready for painting. I will be keeping his number handy for future jobs and recommendations. Thank you very much.

Review Date: 04/22/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerry, did an absolutely great job! I was completely satisfied with his sense of professionalism, courteousy, and ability to deliver and an excellent product. I would not hesitate to recommend Gerry to anyone.

Review Date: 03/17/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: We are very happy with the quality work that was done and the advise he gave us. We will us him again and recommend him to others.

Review Date: 01/20/2006 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Excellent company. Highly recommend to others. Thanks.

Review Date: 12/20/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Did the job as discussed, only had problem with capping off some water line that was behind the wall (once a plumber came it was taken care of in minutes). Good job.

Review Date: 11/13/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 11/08/2005 | Author: Ian B.

Comments: Overall a pro job. I would use Portlock again. I didn't have my act together completely and Gerald worked with me.

Review Date: 10/27/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 09/23/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: We're half finished with this project and so far so good

Review Date: 09/23/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald was a pleasure to work with. He was prompt, always returned our phone calls within an hour, responded positively even when we needed him to come back to change something to our liking. He was professional, courteous, and clearly skilled in his trade. He gave us options and helped us to work within our budget. We would certainly hire him again and we'd refer him to our friends.

Review Date: 09/15/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Great work for a pretty good price. Flexible to our needs and willing to help on other related projects by connecting us to quality people.

Review Date: 09/06/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Super job, came in on schedule and got everything up quick. They were very efficient, friendly, and cleaned up in the end. Everything looked great.

Review Date: 08/09/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 07/26/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Did the job as asked. No more - no less. Responded quickly and finished in the prescribed time frame.

Review Date: 07/18/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Portlock Drywall did a very good job and I would recommend them to anyone who needed this type of work done.

Review Date: 07/08/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald is easy to work with and is very eager to please. Will diffidently use his services again.

Review Date: 07/04/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very good job completed on time at the stated price. Gerald and his team were prompt and completed the job in a very efficient manner.

Review Date: 06/11/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald was the best contractor I ever had. I had him do a ceiling job. He was fast, clean and courteous. I would strongly recommend his company and plan to use him again.

Review Date: 06/03/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I use Portlock Drywalls to install a second ceiling for sound insulation. They installed RC channels, sound board, and drywall. Gerald and his team did a very nice job. Everything was done on time. I would definitely recommend them for your wall and/or ceiling project.

Review Date: 03/12/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 03/12/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Portlock was very timely and came right away. His worker actually did the work and was very good.

Review Date: 01/27/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 01/19/2005 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I have used Portluck twice now. I was very impressed with their work. There were clean, punctual and professional. I thought there fees were somewhat higher than I expected, but I cannot complain about the work. I would use them again without question.

Review Date: 12/30/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 12/17/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: We are very happy with Mr. Portlocks work. We asked for some special texturing of which he was very patient. He did an excellent job.

Review Date: 10/13/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I would definently recommend this company he was wonderful.

Review Date: 09/14/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very nice man, very courteous. Very punctual and quick. On the down side: quality was not excellent - some significant cracking of the patches. And very little attention to cleaning up the job or minimizing dust going everywhere. Regarding price: I had 3 quotes from drywall contractors, and all, including Portlock, came in within 4% - so he was no bargain, just exactly what everyone else quoted - i.e. "fair"

Review Date: 09/08/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald was very honest, fair and easy to work with. His folks did very good work, at a good price! I will definitively use him again. Just be prepared to be flexible with schedule - he appears to have limited resources, especially when working on other jobs.

Review Date: 07/28/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Portlock and his son resurfaced our damaged bathroom walls and ceiling. The price fit our budget, they showed up on time, did a good job, and cleaned up well. They also gave us good advice about painting. I'd hire them again.

Review Date: 07/22/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald was great! I ended up having him come in on July 7th to do an estimate for drywalling a doorway, and he came in and completed the job on July 8th! I am really happy with his work!

Review Date: 07/09/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Great job- thanks!

Review Date: 07/06/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Portlock was very professional but approachable. He made valuable suggestions about the work, began and finished on time, and was able to arrange for other, related jobs to be completed.

Review Date: 07/05/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 07/01/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I've arranged for the work to be done next week, but the initial contact has been great!!

Review Date: 06/25/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: My job was a HUGE challenge, requiring very thick covering over very large expanses of wall, including arched transition from wall to ceiling and very difficult detailed alcove corners, and all of this was over a thick texture with nearly half-inch depths. Unbelievable. But Gerald came out, took a look (shook his head a little bit...just joking), and summarized what he planned to do, including as much detail as I cared to ask about. Then he quoted me a price within 24 hours after at, and we agreed on a schedule. He delivered on every committment he made. The outcome was better than I had hoped for. I was completely satisfied with every aspect of Gerald's performance and product.

Review Date: 06/16/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald and his crew did a great job on my kitchen. I would recommend him to others.

Review Date: 06/03/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 05/27/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I was very satisfied with the job done by Portlock Drywall. I would recommend them to anyone with drywall or plaster repair work that needs done.

Review Date: 04/30/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 04/08/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald did what he said in the time frame that he said for a fair price with a great attitude..What else can I say...I would hire him all over again if I needed to!

Review Date: 04/06/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I truly feel that I found not only a highly qualified and professional contractor in Portlock Drywall, but a partner to count on for any future needs. Our son had managed to create a large hole in our front entry way. Because this is the first thing you see upon entering our house we were very concerned about the integrity and the appearance of the wall. Gerald Portlock came to our house on time, quoted the job, and reassured us that if his repair did not meet our expectations we would not be charged for his services. He came back on the appointed day, on time, and did a fabulous job. His repair blended in so well, I have been challenging guests to our home to try and find

Review Date: 03/25/2004 | Author: Nancy M.

Comments: Portlock was terrific - great job, great prep and clean-up. Wonderful people

Review Date: 03/22/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald called me back immediately, showed up on time, was extremely polite and did an excellent job. I couldn't be happier!

Review Date: 03/15/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I would definately hire Gerald again if I need to drywall. He was recommended by me to another job.. very satisfied but could make more of an effort for clean up.

Review Date: 02/06/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I hired the contractor but did not see the final result. My client reports that the work was good but not perfect. Contractor's responsiveness was excellent.

Review Date: 01/23/2004 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Great experince with this company - great work, professionalism, and nice people as well. Highly recommended.

Review Date: 10/09/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald called me within 5 minutes of my posting and was at my house within the hour. He repaired my wall the next day. I did ask for a paint-ready finish and my painter needed to do minor spakelling/sanding in order to paint. But for the price and the timeliness, Gerald was great.

Review Date: 09/23/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald and his crew were great. He scheduled my job right away, showed up when he said he would, finished within one day as promised, and was a pleasure to deal with all around. He was not only friendly and kind, but very upfront and honest and did a great job on a small budget. We will definitely hire him again.

Review Date: 09/18/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald is an absolute credit to his profession. He delivers quality on every level, something what many others in his profession do not

Review Date: 09/12/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Portlock did an excellent job on very short notice. He was very professional, paid great attention to detail and was conccerned about the quality of his work. Based on other bids I received and the quality of work, his work was a great value.

Review Date: 09/07/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald Portlock did a extremely thorough job for me. I would highly recommend him for others in need of drywall assistance.

Review Date: 08/26/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: portlock was excellent in every way. we got a good deal from him.

Review Date: 07/12/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 06/25/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Portlock came out - discussed the job and said he could complete it on the same day - which he did. His work is very good - it shows that he takes pride in what he does. We were most satisfied with him and would definitely recommend him to anyone needing drywall work done.

Review Date: 06/20/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: The best compliments you can make of a contractor are that not only would you hire him/her again, you'd also refer him/her to a friend. Well, my wife & I would definitely, without hesitation, both hire Portlock again & refer him to as many firends as we can. He was prompt (even came out on a Sunday to chek out site & give us a quote), courteous, professional, attentive, and flexible (allowed us a discount when we chose to prime/paint ourselves after the job). Very nice guy...my wife & I are very pleased with our choice of Portlock Drywall.

Review Date: 06/01/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: We think that Gerald was a great guy and would like to hire him again.

Review Date: 05/29/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: We were able to have all the work done very professionally by communicating over the phone. The rental unit was ready for occupancy within days. Gerald Portlock's accomodating personality and ability to make good recommendations is a huge plus. Any apartment house owner would be lucky to have his services.

Review Date: 03/10/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald is a craftsman in an age of shoddy workmanship and rush work. He is a great plaster contractor and also a wonderful person. His results re first rate and his quality is excellent.

Review Date: 03/05/2003 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Gerald and his team are highly professional, respectful and do what they say they will do. I don't think there is any way to make this a "clean" job - it's dirty work no matter what you do! They tried hard to keep the dust down and clean up the best they could. I was happy with their work and would hire them again. They were the most dependable drywall folks I've ever worked with and to me that is the most important. Also, Gerald was quick to respond to the call for help, which we also appreciated, as we were in a bit of a hurry to get the job done.

Our Credentials

  • License ID: 816500 (C-09 Drywall)